THE BOWERY AT MIDNIGHT…the sixth cut from my newest album

On the Bowery

from the album ACCIDENTAL TANGOS.

THE BOWERY AT MIDNIGHT
(Robertson 2017)

I wish I had a hat on
the rain’s coming down
the subway below
makes a rumbling sound
the shops are all closed
the neon is off
down a dark alley
I hear someone cough

some of the buildings
have windows alight
casting strange patterns
that cut through the night
the world seems cold
and unfriendly down here
the rain washes away
the dirt and spilled beer

I should go to Grand Central
I should get on a train
I wish that I
could see you again
I’ve got a hole in my heart
and water in my shoes
I never will lose
these Bowery blues

Leave a Reply

