BLAZE from the album Something To Do

blaze

From the 2015 album SOMETHING TO DO, this is my song about the notorious stripper, Blaze Starr.

BLAZE

Didn’t make no money today
ain’t gonna make no money tomorrow
gonna sit right here and cry
it seems like all my friends ever do
is drink fuck and quarrel
gonna sit right here and say good bye

Blaze Starr Blaze away
I just wanted just wanted just wanted to say….
Blaze Starr Blaze away
Blaze away

I saw you down on Howard street
when I was still in high school
went to the Lido, snuck in the back door
and I watched you strut across the stage
like a bird of paradise
I can still hear the sound of high heels on the boards
ch.

june 15 2015

half my friends went away to war
and half of them came back
I shoulda looked them up but you know I just lost track
I don’t know what you had
if you were hell or heaven sent
but you took it with you took it with you took it with you when you went

Leave a Reply

