INK…the fourth cut on REMIXES

ink-ink

In the late 90s I was driving through Akron, Ohio on my way to a gig. It was late afternoon and I was stuck behind some  stopped traffic on an overpass. Down below on a residential street I could see a little human tableau being enacted: a young man with long hair and a leather jacket was listening to a young girl as they both stood at the end of a driveway. He obviously was not happy with what she was saying, and, after a few moments he threw up his hands and stamped off down the street to a ’69 Camaro which he got in and furiously drove off.
I don’t actually know what happened or what it was all about, but when I got home I wrote this song…

INK

(Craig Robertson 2006)

She stood in the drive And wrung her hands
She said I really hope you understand
I really like your tattoos, I really like your hair, it’s so long, so long

She looked at my camaro parked on the street
She looked at the sky, she looked at her feet,
She told me she though I was kind, thought I was sweet, but so long, so long

Ch; I’m gonna drive downtown And sit down in Rose’s Parlor
I don’t want to think, just get out the ink Before I lose my nerve
I’m gonna drive downtown And sit down in Rose’s Parlor.
I don’t want to think, get out the ink And make it look like her.

from the album REMIXES (2016)

Leave a Reply

