APRIL FOOL…a preview of my newest album

aprilfool

My new album “Big Town” will be out next week. Nine original songs and one cover. To whet your appetites, I am releasing this track, April Fool, early (the reason why should be obvious). Besides the lead vox and harmonies, there is acoustic guitar, tres cubano, bass guitar, melodeon and programmed drums.

The full album will be available next weekend as a CD in a shrink-wrapped jewel case and art, or as a digital download from Bandcamp.

APRIL FOOL

(Robertson 2016)

You said you’d be coming in April
and stay for a week or two
we could hang out in the  cafes
there were plenty of things we could do
but you you couldn’t make it, you texted me
I remember the golden rule
by why you bothered perplexed me
now I feel like an April fool.

You never said you were sorry
it had something to do with your work
I thought okay not a big deal
but I still felt like a jerk
I don’t like to argue,
I remember the golden rule.
I know shit happens
I feel like an April fool.

I never saw you again
I guess it’s all for the best
we never talked and now I think
about you less and less
I’ve become more guarded
I remember the golden rule
I’d rather be single and all alone
than to feel like an April fool.

 

Leave a Reply

