SALEM….the sixth song on my newest album “Pushin’ Through”

salem

Places hold memories…some places more than other.

SALEM

(Robertson 14)

It was time to get out of town, I got a ticket north

one sunny day in late September

the tagging on the bridges and the walls along the way

wasn’t quite as nice as I remember

I got off in Salem town and climbed that flight of steps

I’ve always had a good time on these streets

nothin’ had changed but nothin’ was the same

everything had changed

I didn’t recognize the ground beneath my feet.

chorus:

So I ain’t going up to Salem no more

it used to be magical, now it’s just a bore

I can see you standing behind every door

and I ain’t going up to Salem no more.

I didn’t stay, I took the next train back

I just grabbed an empty seat and settled down

the conductor was unfriendly, the window glass was fogged

it started raining when I got back into town.

Leave a Reply

