THE CAKE (and who took it)…..the fourth song on my most recent album “Stab”

take-the-cakeYou know that point with a hangover when you say to yourself; ‘I’ll never drink again’? Well, this is about that same point in a relationship…

(acoustic guitar, mandolin, bass guitar, drums, vocals)

The Cake (and who took it)

(Robertson 2014)

Little dead riding hood

I wish you would

go somewhere else and leave me alone’

you’ve got those zombie eyes

the kind that paralyze

that turn me into a human drone

chorus

you were my last mistake

the last I’ll ever make

you know you took the cake for foolin’ me

you were my last mistake

the last I’ll ever make

you know you took the cake for foolin’ me.

Little dead riding hood

you never been any good

you’re so good at being bad, that makes it hard

I’m a fool hangin’ upside down

starin’ at the broken ground

you’re such a card.

Chorus

bridge: well, I’m talkin’ to dust devils in the corner of my room

they all have voices like a whisper from the tomb.

chorus

Leave a Reply

