She Likes To Pull The Wings Off Flies….2nd song on Greatest Hats, Vol. 1

Blue fly

This song is from my 2004 album, “That Dress”. It was written for the album that year and is pretty much another staple of my live shows. (the slide guitar on this track was done by Manitoba Hal Brolundf)

SHE LIKES TO PULL THE WINGS OFF FLIES
(C. Robertson 04)

Gm Adim Gm
Because she likes
Gm Adim Gm
To pull the wings
Gm Adim Gm Gm Adim Gm
Off flies, off flies.
D7 Gm Adim Gm
You can see it in her eyes.

Gm (add C#)
I came around the corner and met her face to face
Cm6 D7
She seemed a little breathless, like she’d been running in a race
Gm (add C#)
She said a man was chasing her, I looked, no one was there.
Cm6 D7
She had the longest lashes and a spider’s deadly stare

Chorus

She asked if she could come up and sit with me awhile
To catch her breath until he left…she gave the sweetest smile
Like broken glass and honey, she touched me on the arm
And an electric shock went through me like a fire alarm

Chorus

Now she’s looking out the window, she’s drinking all my wine
She’s pacing back and forth and looking at the time
I don’t think she trusts me, she keeps looking a the door
As her black stiletto heels clickety click across the floor.

chorus

The song has been covered many times by various musicians. Here’s a cool version by Nipper Lewis:

SHE LIKES TO PULL THE WINGS OFF FLIES by Nipper

Leave a Reply

